Record number of BSMOTY entries from independents

After a successful launch of the 2017 SIS/Racing Post Betting Shop Manager of the Year (BSMOTY) in April, entries have now closed and we are pleased to announce a record number of nominations.

This year will see a total of 146 betting shop managers go into the initial judging for the highly-respected award, almost double last year’s 77, and more proof that the award has become an industry institution.

Significantly, a much greater proportion of this year’s nominees have come from the independent sector, as opposed to better known high-street brands.  Question papers are now being completed by the entrants, with the judging panel meeting on Monday 7th August to decide who goes forward.

Nigel Boardman (Major Account Manager at SIS), said: “It’s great to see a record number of entries for this year’s SIS/Racing Post Betting Shop Manager of the Year, and I expect to see some hugely-motivated and innovative retail managers come through the judging process.

“Bookmakers have seen their reputations grow on the back of a win, and managers are obviously noting the significant career development it offers them, not to mention the whirlwind year of hospitality, TV appearances and award shows they will experience on the back of it.”

Past BSMOTY winners have gone onto bigger and better things in their respective companies or elsewhere in the industry, as we highlighted in our recent interview with Robert Mabbett, the 2016 champion. Keep an eye out in future editions for a review of Robert’s trip of a lifetime to Singapore.

For more information on the judging process and significant dates in this year’s competition, please email